Summer Playlist 2014

Since we’re always so serious as artists, I thought it would be fun to loosen up & create a quarterly playlist depending on the season we’re currently in. I asked the first round of artists from She is Sure to post their favorite summer songs that get them excited to create new work and just have a great time! I hope some of these songs speak to you & inspire you as well!

Photo by Laura Knapp of Elizabeth Ireland

Photo by Laura Knapp of Elizabeth Ireland

 “Some songs, when you listen to them, they take on a life of their own inside you.”

– Jamie Rogers


Elizabeth Ireland:

“Island in the Sun” – Weezer 

“Pulaski at Night” – Andrew Bird 

“New Slang” – The Shins

“Folding Chair” – Regina Spektor

Ca Plane Pour Moi – “Plastic Bertrand”

Cori DiPietro:

“Amazing” – One Eskim0  

(Cori says, “I love the lines: ‘I have no skin, I feel everything, its amazing…’**Sigh!**”)

“Do I Wanna Know?” – Arctic Monkeys

“She’s So Heavy” – The Beatles

Sierra Marin:

“Change Your Life” – Iggy Azalea 

“Kiss Me” – Ed Sheeran

“Light Me Up” – Icona Pop

“Vertigo” – Jason Derulo

Tricia Collier:

“I Wanna Be Sedated” – The Ramones

“Ramblin Man” – Allman Brothers

“Let it Ride” – BTO

“Octopus’ Garden” – The Beatles

 (Tricia says, “I was driving early in the morning when I was about 19. I had no shoes, no license (with me) I was speeding and I failed to stop for a police officer. YUP, got into trouble for that one. But I blame the song.”)

Jamie Rogers:

“Two Weeks” – FKA Twigs

“Hunger of the Pine” – Alt-J

“Unravel” – Bjork

“Lucky” – Radiohead

(Jamie says, “It’s impossible for me to not have chills, clear my brain & experience the ultimate highs & lows of its melody. Afterwards, with a clear head, I feel more engaged with my emotions & inspired to channel them honestly through my work.”)

“Dancing Behind My Eyelids” – Múm

Laura Knapp:

“Without You My Life Would Be Boring” – The Knife

“The Secret Life of Arabia” – David Bowie

“Kate Bush” – The Saxophone Song

“Innocence”- Bjork

“Get Up Offa That Thing” – James Brown

(Laura says, “Dancing is inspiring to me. Every single one of these songs makes me boogie. Go boogie down!”)

Catalina Piedrahita:

“Empire” – Shakira

“The 2nd Law: Unsustainable” – Muse

“Com Touch” – Clark

“Latinoamerica” – Calle 13

“Le Moulin” – Yann Tiersen

Happy listening!!!

Leave a Reply

